Out of all my years of research, no ingredient has held quite the mystery of maltodextrin.  My GI, GP and homeopathic doctors, as well as organizations such as the Celiac Society and publications like The Gluten Free Bible all say it is gluten free.  But in my search for gluten free cosmetics i'm finding more and more sources that suggest it isn't, because there is a low possibility it is derived from barley.  I don't know honestly, but I'm going to trust my doctors--so for all of you who are wary of the ingredient that is in nearly EVERYTHING, remember that I consider maltodextrin safe.